Sacrifice and Discpline?

I took the day off from work yesterday to really concentrate on studying for the GMAT. My plan was to study for 8 straight hours only taking a break to eat lunch and go to the bathroom. Well that plan failed miserably. I realized yesterday that I have the concentration of a 5 year old and was only able to complete all eight hours of studying by promising myself a donut afterwards (Food rewards are the best!.

I finally made it through all my MGMAT strategy books, but I still need to go back and review a couple of concepts I’m having trouble with. According to my last practice GMAT this is everything and anything math related. I took my 3rd practice GMAT this weekend and did HORRIBLY on math. I was thrown off by the first two problems and never recovered. I do not want this to happen come GMAT day. I have to learn how to leave problems in the past and concentrate on the problem in front of me. In other news, I increased my Verbal percentage by some crazy numbers, which I find to be hilarious since I have been avoiding my MGMAT verbal guides. Given that I am a poet (a person with a non-quant academic background) I know that potential business schools will not look favorably upon a totally lopsided verbal/quant split, so its back to quant studying I go.

Yesterday, while I was at the library slaving away over my GMAT books, my mind came upon the meaning of GMAT. I feel it really isn’t about the score, but rather schools want to see if you are willing to sacrifice your friends, your hobbies and maybe even your hygiene to get a good score on this one little test. Thus far I have been willing to sacrifice the first two, but I love my showers too much to give them up for anything 🙂

 

The next two weeks is going to be quite busy for me, my only hope is that I come out the other side without any type of major illness or injury, if I can do that then I will consider my life a success. Here is what I’ll be doing just in case  you’re interested:

Today (Tuesday): Duke University (Fuqua Info Session @ 7pm at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis)

Wednesday: Test in my Economics class

Thursday: May take the day off to study for GMAT (TBD)

Friday-Sunday: LA/Palm Springs for one of my best friends’ wedding!!!

Friday: Practice test before the rehearsal dinner? I hope so.

Monday: Relaxation day-Movies and maybe a message(NO PRACTICE TEST!!!)

Tuesday: 11am GDAY

Friday-Saturday: Preview weekend at Olin!!

Sunday-Monday: Preview weekend at Simon??

Leave a comment

Filed under Diversity Weekend, GMAT, Info Sessions, Work

Leave a Reply

