They Should Have a Support Group for this….

I admit it I have a problem. An obsession an addiction even and it is not healthy.

When I started this MBA process 10 years ago (Not 10 years, but at this point that is what it seems like), I thought the hardest part would be studying for the GMAT. I was wrong. The hardest part is waiting to receive an interview invite. Every morning I wake up and scour my inbox for any sign of an invitation, any glimpse of hope an email from the school might give me and every morning I am greatly disappointed. Then I proceed to look at the message boards to see if anyone from the schools I applied to received an interview invite, if they did I repeat step one of the process and re-check my email for any sign of an invite. If people who are applying for schools that I didn’t apply to, like Cornell recieve an interview invite I secretly wish that I had applied to that school because THEN I would have heard back by now.

It is a serious problem it is affecting my relationship with others and my productivity at work. I admit I am powerless over interview decisions! The funny thing is according to the schools websites none of them are suppose to release interview invites until next week, so I am being super obsessive about it for no reason.

I had my interview for Tuck over a month ago so that is one school I won’t have to worry about, but waiting for the other schools to contact is causing me to age like 20 years overnight!

Just a recap I am waiting to hear from

Wharton

Yale

Fuqua

Tepper

Olin

Someone, please anyone email me.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “They Should Have a Support Group for this….

  1. glorioussilver

    Hey, just wanted to say that I know what you’re going through. My body was literally aching while I waited for Columbia to render a decision. Just stay off the message boards; it never helps. You see someone else getting an invite, you worry. No one mentions an invite, and you still worry lol. It’s a no-win. I don’t know if this’ll work for you, but I deleted all shortcuts to my email and MBA-related websites. It actually helped. Good luck!

  2. Liz

    This is the first time I have ever left a comment on someone’s blog that I don’t know but when I googled “support group + mba” your post was the only relevant link that came up. This is exactly how I feel and I’m not even the one who applied to MBA programs! My husband is currently waiting to hear back from schools and being the overly involved wife that I am clearadmit is currently ruining my life and turning me into a paranoid email addict. It’s good to know I’m not the only one feeling this way. We’re also in the Bay Area and haven’t heard back from Wharton about an interview. My husband did his Duke interview in SF and it went really well. Best of luck! Maybe we’ll see you at Tuck or Fuqua.

    • Hi Liz,
      Thanks so much for your reply! I’m glad its not just me feeling like this MBA process is driving me insane. Your husband is lucky to have such a supportive wife on his side. I am super excited for my Duke interview. I would love to hear any tips you or your husband may have on the interview 🙂 Thanks again for reading.

Leave a Reply

